The Country Under My Skin

While I was in Italy I started reading Gioconda Belli’s memoir about her life as part of the Nicaraguan Sandinista movement, and I can’t put it down. It is honest and accessible regardless of how much you know about the Sandinistas.

I think this is my favorite book I’ve read in a while.

Belli is a famous author and poet¬†separately from her memoir, but I can’t claim to have read much of her other work.

Recommended if you enjoy memoirs or are interested in Nicaragua. Readers who like this book may also enjoy Matilde Zimmerman’s biography of Sandinista founder Carlos Fonseca or Assata Shakur’s autobiography.

2 responses to “The Country Under My Skin

  1. this was one of my favorite books when i was a teenager. i haven’t thought about it in a long time. thanks for reminding me it’s out there – we should totally geek out about this when i get home.

  2. Yes! It’s so good, I just finished reading it and now I want to read her other work / really want to go back to Nicaragua.

Leave a Reply

